Skip to content

Welcome to Expacked (Issue #75)

June 11, 2010

After a long hard winter, I think we can finally say summer has arrived.  Temperatures have skyrocketed over the last week or two and air conditioners all over Korea are now going like crazy.  It’s great for the tan, but maybe it’s not so good for a classroom full of overheated students.Iconic Seoul Building

I was thinking the other day about how my students have developed over the last couple of years.  While its pretty hard to keep track when I have over 600 students each year, there is one student who really stands out.

When I first arrived at the school I was pretty green at teaching and I’ll always remember what this third grade boy said to me:

“Me no understand New Zealand English, teach me Canadian English”

It was a big blow to me at the time.  Was I a bad teacher? Could I teach them? Was my accent too strong? Would I improve?  Or was it just that his English ability was that bad?  So many questions went through my mind at that moment.

Now, however, fast-forward a few of years.  I love the huge smile this same boy has while he desperately waves his hand, in the hope, that I will pick him to say the answer aloud to the class.  Perseverance pays off.

Here are the teaching related stories this week:

Feel free to comment on any of these stories and continue to share Expacked with your friends.  Enjoy the read and, of course, have a good laugh at this week’s jokes.

Cheers,

Ken

If you haven’t already, you can always subscribe directly to receive the full weekly newsletter through email or RSS feed.  Click on one of the options below to subscribe:

Click Here to Subscribe via Email Click Here to Subscribe via RSS
Email Subscribe RSS Subscribe

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

