Skip to content

Welcome to Expacked (Issue #35)

August 27, 2009

This week I thought I would plan ahead, so I was pretty pleased with myself when I wrote the introduction to Expacked earlier this week.  The trouble was, of course, so much happened between then and now.  The two huge stories to hit this week was SMOE cancelling 100 new teaching contracts because they had “overbooked positions” (with little regard to the lives they affected, or the signed contracts they made), and the escalation of the flu crisis, where schools now need to test every student before they enter the school grounds, every day.  These are big stories and I have included them in the first couple of stories below.

Now onto the introduction I wrote earlier:

For those adjusting to life in a foreign country, I believe it is very important to be active and enjoy hobbies outside the daily grind of teaching.  One of the great things about the expat community in Korea is that you can find groups for just about any sport or hobbies you are interested in.RugbyTeams

Those who know me, know I love sport and that I have a huge passion for rugby.  Last Saturday my local rugby team, Seoul Survivors, played an international game against a touring British army team and it was great to see the community get out to support the guys in action.  Since joining the team earlier this year I have been able to meet a lot of new people and have been able to experience a lot more of what living in Korea has to offer.

This weekend we have another international game, with a club from Hong Kong flying  to play us.  Whats really exciting about this is that they are sending three teams; their senior team will play the Seoul Survivors, their womans team will play our womans team (Seoul Sisters) and an under-18 team will play our colts team.  Its going to be a big day and I am looking forward to see everyone in action at the Jamwon pitch on Saturday.

If you are interested in coming along, or want to find out about joining any of these teams, click here to visit our website for more details.

This is just one example of the many types of expat communities you can join in Korea.  Whether you are interested in football, movies, books, running, or even something like uni-cycling (I have a friend doing this), there’s a group out there for anyone!

As usual, Korea has no shortage of news impacting teachers and I have a quick summary of these stories in Expacked this week.  The story headings are on the right.

I hope you enjoy the read and, of course, this week’s joke.

Thanks,

Ken

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

